In college towns, drinking is often viewed as part of life. Sometimes, however, celebrating the big game or a completed exam can have a downside. Students who don't know their alcohol limit or who weren't keeping track of how much they had, might get behind the wheel to go home when they probably shouldn't. Because police officers keep a keen eye out for activities involving alcohol, students can risk being charged with a DUI, minor in possession or other charge. For student-athletes, these charges can come with further consequences from coaches and the university.

Recently, a 19-year-old University of Kansas student and football player was arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol. He posted $500 bond that Saturday and was given notice to appear in court. He could face driver's license restrictions. KU's athletic director says the student's discipline will be handled internally by the football coach. The wide receiver is originally from Arlington, Texas.

In a situation like this, it is important to understand your rights. You could risk having your license suspended, fines of up to $2,000, and even jail time if you are charged with a DUI or DWI. If you are underage, you could also be penalized with a three-month license suspension, fines, community service and mandatory alcohol awareness classes.

Most college students don't have thousands of dollars to spend on anything, let alone a DUI fine. In addition, many students rely on their cars to get them to and from school, practice, a job or even the grocery store. Both could be taken away from you if you're convicted of a DUI.

Source

KUsports.com: "KU football player Chris Omigie arrested on DUI," George Diepenbrock, 7 Feb. 2011