A case involving the death of a 16-year-old girl may have Texas A&M college students thinking twice about hosting a party or providing alcohol to their peers who are not yet of legal age to drink.

Underage drinking can be found at almost every college campus in the U.S., but the penalties for providing alcohol to minors are stiff in the state of Texas. Recently, a woman from Odessa was sentenced to two years in prison for her involvement in the death of a teenage girl. The girl had died from alcohol poisoning after drinking excessive amounts of alcohol at the woman's home.

According to court documents, the woman's daughter and her 16-year-old friend were drinking alcohol in the woman's home on June 1, 2010. Although the woman did not provide the alcohol to the minors, court documents stated that she knew that the girls were drinking but did not attempt to stop them from consuming the alcohol.

The daughter's friend later died from alcohol poisoning.

The 34-year-old woman was charged in the incident. Last week, the woman pleaded guilty to second-degree felony of manslaughter. She has been sentenced to serve two years in prison and must pay for her court costs.

Although many cases of underage drinking do not end tragically, individuals accused of providing alcohol to minors face serious legal consequences in the state of Texas. Individuals could serve up to one year in jail, they could be required to pay up to $4,000 in fines and they could also have their driver's license suspended if convicted.

Source: Odessa American, "Woman gets two years in underage-drinking death," Sept. 27, 2011